Upcoming Events / Health and Medical Topics / Event Details

Management of Dental Pain and Appropriate Opioid Prescribing Practices

Categories: Health and Medical Topics

Speaker(s): Thomas Viola

Date: 2020-11-17 07:00:00

Location: Online Webinar

Contact Hours: 1

Event Details

1 CE WEBINAR *Mandatory Compliance Course*.  Management of acute odontogenic pain is accomplished through a clinical approach that successfully incorporates both opioid and nonopioid analgesics. It is critical for dental clinicians to not only employ appropriate prescribing practices when utilizing opioid and nonopioid analgesics to treat pain, but to also apply best practices when assessing pain control and educating patients on opioid-associated risks and opioid safety. This program will provide an overview of techniques for effectively assessing and managing dental pain, appropriately prescribing analgesics, and educating patients on proper handling of opioid medications and its adverse effects. It will also provide strategies for identifying patients at risk for substance abuse and counseling patients on agents used in the management and treatment of opioid use disorder.

Register for 7pm ET Webinar

Register for 7pm CT Webinar (8pm ET)

Register for 7pm PT Webinar (10pm ET)

 
Event 2 of 2